Council & Patron

The Council of Management is responsible for all aspects of the Society’s activities. Individuals are elected at Annual General Meetings, acting as Trustees and Directors. The composition of Council and tenure of office are prescribed in the Articles of Association. Council members are not paid.

Council Members

President – T. Grimes
Hon. Secretary – M. Price
Hon. Treasurer – D. Gratton
Hon. Curator – I. Hoult
Librarian – D. Frazier Wood
Hon. Lecture Secretary – vacant
Representative Members – G. Dayes, J. Dobbs, M. Gilbert, P. Keeling, P. Wensor, E. Sneath


Richard Montague Douglas Scott, 10th Duke of Buccleuch and 12th Duke of Queensberry

(The 2nd Duke of Buccleuch became the first Patron of the Society in 1732, and the 9th Duke was also Patron until his death in 2007.)